For Your Sunday Listening Pleasure

Music, for me at least, is an apathy-buster.  I don’t listen to as much as I used to, mainly due to the rather large list of podcasts I listen to weekly, but it remains an important part of my life.  There are times when I get bitten by the apathy bug and anything outside of going to work and going to sleep seem pointless.  I guess I could take whatever advertised medication they are pushing this week to make 40 hour work weeks and television dribble seem like a fulfilling life, but I’d rather break out of the funk rather than make it tolerable.

And I’ve found no better way to regain focus than by listening to music.  Not whatever the radio or the record companies are pushing this month, but music with a message, with feeling and purpose.  So on Sundays here at Foster Disbelief, I will share a song or two that means something to me, something that removes that apathetic feeling and pushes me to take action.  Feel free to ignore these posts; music is an individual taste, and my tastes are far outside the mainstream.  But perhaps you’ll find something you like.  Who knows?

For the first edition of this series, Gogol Bordello performing Immigraniada (We Comin’ Rougher)

One thought on “For Your Sunday Listening Pleasure

Leave a Reply

