For Your Sunday Listening Pleasure….

To celebrate the GOP War on Women 2012 this Sunday’s musical selections will be 100% woman powered.  I’m thinking some Sleater-Kinney is called for.

First, #1 Must Have.  This clip is from the old show “Trackers” on Oxygen.  If you ever watched the show, you will probably realize that this song choice was deliberate, since the lyrics deal with fluffy fake girl power crap like the show “Trackers.”  Song starts at the 1:15 mark if you can’t sit through the hosts idiocy.

Bearer of the flag from the beginning
Now who would have believed this riot grrrl’s a cynic
But they took our ideas to their marketing stars
and now i’m spending all my days at girlpower.com
Trying to buy back a little piece of me
(Everywhere you go they say “Hello,
weren’t you the one that sold your soul?”
Every time you leave the say “Oh no,
why did you ever let us go?”)

And i think that I sometimes might have wished
for something more than to be a size six
But now my inspiration rests
in-between my beauty magazines and my
credit card bills

I’ve been crawling up so long on your
stairway to heaven
And now i no longer believe that i wanna get in
And will there always be concerts where
women are raped
watch me make up my mind instead
of my face

The number one must have is
that we are safe
(Everywhere you go teenage
is the rage
inside your pants
and on the front page
Everywhere you go it’s die or be born
if you can’t decide then
it’s your own war)

No more
and for the ladies out there i wish
we could write more than the next
marketing bid
Culture is what we make it
yes it is
now is the time
to invent

Youth Decay  simply because it is my favorite Sleater-Kinney song.

“Acid tooth
It’s got nothing to do with you
but if you wanna watch me chew
my teeth are cutting you out
Stomachache

Well it must be in your head
It must be something that you did
Food just doesn’t seem to work out
Am I rotting out?

Daddy says I got my mama’s mouth
I’m all about
a forked tongue and a dirty house
Mom has said
yes this happened to me long ago
and if you’ve got the same hurting oh
But no one would believe me when i said:

Close my mouth
Was I born to accommodate
I’m so good at playing dead
words just don’t seem to come out
Should I eat something sweet instead
wash away all those things we said
1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8
how many doctors will it take
Oooh Oooh befoe i disintegrate”

Jumpers


I spend the afternoon in cars
I sit in traffic jams for hours
Don’t push me
I am not ok

The sky is blue most every day
The lemons grow like tumors
They are tiny suns
Infused with sour

Lonely as a cloud
In the Golden State
“The coldest winter that I ever saw
Was the summer that I spent…”

The only substance is the fog
And it hides all that has gone wrong
Can’t see a thing
Inside the maze

There is a bridge adored and famed
The Golden spine of engineering
Whose back is heavy
With my weight

Lonely as a cloud
In the Golden State
“The coldest winter that I ever saw
Was the summer that I spent…”

Be still this old heart
Be still this old skin
Drink you last drink
Sin your last sin
Sing your last song
About the beginning
Sing your song loud
So the people can hear
Let’s Go

Be still this sad day
Be still this sad year
Hope your last hope
Fear your last fear
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one
Let’s Go

My falling shape will draw a line
Between the blue of sea and sky
I’m not a bird
I’m not a plane

I took a taxi to the Gate
I will not go to school again
Four seconds was
The longest wait

Four seconds was
the longest wait. [4x]

And You’re No Rock and Roll Fun to end on a happy, bouncy note.

 

More tunes next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

