Does It Seem Like I’m Just Repeating Myself? War on Women, 2012!

I know.  This blog has turned into “War on Women, All the time.”  Believe me, it wasn’t my choice.  Don’t get me wrong, I care about feminist issues, although whether or not I’m a feminist is probably better left up to actual women to decide.  I’m anti-misogyny, but any modern thinking citizen should be.  I shouldn’t get a gold star for not being a misogynist.  When I moved the blog over to WordPress, I figured I’d write about science and atheism, make fun of anti-vaxxers and creationists, and touch on politics only every now and then.

Then the entire Republican party lost its fucking mind.  Yeah, I’ll be the first to claim that the far right of the party had already went batshit insane years ago, but the whole party?  It is 2012, and the political debate isn’t about the economy or jobs, it’s about shoving things into women against their will, denying them health care, and slut-shaming them if they dare to speak up.

Seriously.  I’ve worried about the radicalization of the Republican party for years, but I never thought it would get this bad, this quickly.  How bad is it?  From the New York Times:

With emotions still raw from the fight over President Obama’s contraception mandate, Senate Democrats are beginning a push to renew the Violence Against Women Act, the once broadly bipartisan 1994 legislation that now faces fierce opposition from conservatives.

Seriously?

Janice Shaw Crouse, a senior fellow at the conservative Concerned Women for America, said her group had been pressing senators hard to oppose reauthorization of legislation she called “a boondoggle” that vastly expands government and “creates an ideology that all men are guilty and all women are victims.”

Last month on the conservative Web site Townhall.com, the conservative icon Phyllis Schlafly called the Violence Against Women Act a slush fund “used to fill feminist coffers” and demanded that Republicans stand up against legislation that promotes “divorce, breakup of marriage and hatred of men.”

Got that?  Follow the logic, once again.  Protecting women from domestic violence actually means FUCK ALL MEN!!!!

This is a wedge we have got to pound home.  This blog has become practically all War on Women because it is the single most important thing going on in politics today, in my opinion.  The Republicans are playing the cards dealt to them by their base, and those cards are from the 1950’s if not earlier.

 

Leave a Reply

