Sunday Listening …. Pleasure?

Sorry, not much pleasure from the musical choice today, only reality.  Spent the day catching up with other ex-junkies.  One couple are doing really well, with almost a year off methadone now.  They have a new apartment, got custody of their daughter back, and everything is looking great.  My other friend got out of rehab 4 days ago.  He called me out of the blue today (haven’t talked to him for over 2 years) and literally begged me to get him dope.  No matter how many times I told him I don’t play that game anymore, he kept insisting I still knew where to find it.  Fucking worst phone call I’ve dealt with for years now.

Two sides of getting clean.  Two sides of the coin.

So I’m thinking of addiction today, (which at least gets my mind off the War on Women 2012 for a while) so you get addiction music.  Do me a favor?  Even if you can not stand the first song, please read the lyrics.  It deals with the reality of heroin addiction better than anything I’ve heard or read.  For your cooperation, I promise to make it up to you with the second song.  Deal?

Here’s the Crack Rock Steady Seven (although everyone always attributes this song to Leftover Crack, which is close, but really.  We all know there’s no such thing as Leftover Crack) with Heroin or Suicide

Hey see you know what I, I know what I don’t
You promise you promise and I know you won’t
The problems and pressures we face everyday
Are sometimes more like but always on display
It breaks in your ears, it aches in your bones and brings you to tears
With various incisions you load another bullet
You’re shooting with precision

I’m talented with atrophy yeah I do it well
you know I’d like to take a break from suffering in hell
Squatting is the excuse is I frequently abuse
Either way I hold the chain I’m gonna need a noose cause PAIN!!!!!!!!
Sweats on my skin, sick with bad memories and burns for my sin PAIN!!!!!!!
To talk with each breath
The only solution is the sweet taste of death!

Don’t mistake the demeanor
My kindness and weakness
I’ll burn you with reality
While you cry to your Jesus
You’re suffocating in two
You’re choking in an empty room
Your empty life that’s ending soon
Completely spells your doom

I made a choice deep inside
heroin or suicide?
sickness praised in times of need
we waste away from hands of greed
Jesus nailed to wooded T’s
cannot compete with my disease
humanity the weak condition my soul is sick from my decision

PAIN!!!! The badness increases
The goodness wants to cry while we are cut to pieces
PAIN!!! Precious death
Paralyzed with apathy that’s all that’s fucking left!
PAIN!!!!!

Ok, finished?  I promised to make it up to you with the second song.  (If you hate baritone sax, I’m sorry, I guess I lied.)

Morphine performing Honey White

 

Honey white (x3)
Made a deal for some angel food
Honey white (x2)
Everybody told her it was sweet and good yea
Oh honey (x4)
She said you’ll see me later yea you’ll see me later
Will you see me later seemed all too soon
And then he smiles he knows honey’s coming back
Honey’s going to want some more angel food
Devil made of honey (x4)
She said you’ll get me when I’m old and wizened
And not a day before that
The devil said honey it won’t be that long
Besides I like to see a little more fat
Yea I like to see a little more fat
You know I like to see a little more fat
Honey white (x4)
Uh tell me how is your angel food
Honey white oh honey white
She says it’s sweet and good
Honey white honey white uh honey white
The sweetness starts to fade
Honey white (x2)
Thought you could get away
Poor honey (x4)

 

Leave a Reply

