Apathy and Exhaustion: Belated Sunday Listening Pleasure

First, thanks to those of you who keep showing up.

Some tunes while I work through some shit.

How about some Lawrence Arms?

“The First Eviction Notice”

A temple
Corroded.
Eviction
Pending.
Embrace me.
Cold night.
Gray sky.
Streetlight.
Lyrical
Descension.
Attention
Fading.
Breathless, I’m a mess.
Kissless, I’m in distress.

I’m barely breathing.

This crowning anguish.
Locked up nervous reflex.
I’ve got to build up from the inside.

A relapse.
Reflection.
Distorted.
Repression.
Smiling spitefully,
Longing for you to sew up my seams.

I’m barely breathing.

I’ve abandoned old identities,
Skin I couldn’t fit into,
Songs I couldn’t write,
My voice will fade into this starless night.

Can I get much blinder?
Can I kick myself much harder?
Have I accepted this
To torture myself?
You can’t see me.
Have I invented you?

I’m barely breathing.
You’re so easy to believe in.
And it’s so depressing,
That I’m always second guessing,
That I’m always second guessing,
That I’m always second guessing
Myself.

“Drunk Mouth Kitchen Smile”

concerning confrontations
this is a shy and quiet morning
the sleeping dogs awoke last night
the thunder scares them, stiff eyed
exercise (your exorcisms)
anchor down (raise the sail)
autumn night,
stay soft and cool
come morning light
i’ll be gone

spectators are tired of watching
they’re filing out the big top doors
i’m buried in the smell of circus
those dark clouds are rolling in
drunken mouth (kitchen smile)
please summon me softly to sleep

today i’ve seen a dragon
on the ripped and worn out armrest
stay back the skin is laced with sticks of dynamite
i’ll be burning out
like a shooting star
a thousand pretty lights
assail these sinking feelings
i should be on trial
for everything i haven’t done
i should be on trial
for everything i haven’t done

“Are You There, Margaret? It’s Me, God”

They told me where to go
(And I always follow)
They told me what to do
(I swallowed every drop down)
They told me bedtime stories
(of how I’d rise above)
They told me they were true

I sat and thought about her
On the train ride out
Until my stomach turned
Like it’s done for years now
I thought about her hips and thighs
With the red in my eyes
I felt my body burn
Burn, yeah.

Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here all by myself
And I got no place to sleep
Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here all by myself and I
Ain’t got no place to sleep.

And you told me that you loved me
(I swallowed every drop down)
And you told me how it felt
Like being gagged and bound
And you told me you were leaving
On the last train out
And you told me, “Go to hell.”

Well, let me tell you, beautiful,
I’ve been there
Believe me when I say I’m not afraid
Of destruction, sorrow, fear or regret.
I heard the devil call me by my name
I heard the devil call me by my name

Hey, yeah.

Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here all by myself
And I got no place to sleep
Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here all by myself and I
Ain’t got no place to sleep.

Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here all by myself
And I got no place to sleep.

Aeroplane, aeroplane
Don’t leave without me
‘Cause I’m out here
All by myself tonight
And I got no place to sleep.
Yeah, I’m out here all by myself tonight
Got no place to sleep
No, no, no, no –
Got no place to sleep
No, no, no, no.

Believe me when I say I’m not afraid
I heard the devil call me by my name
Believe me when I say I’m not afraid
I heard the devil call me by my name

Leave a Reply

