For Your Sunday Listening Pleasure

Major Tom was on the radio tonight on my way home from work, (My mp3 player died and I didn’t have any cd’s in my car, so I had to turn to the radio.) and I realized I almost forgot about the song’s existence.  Of course, if I’m going to post Major Tom by Peter Shilling, it would be a crime not to also post David Bowie’s Space Oddity.  And if I’m going that far, may as well go the whole way with Bowie’s whole Major Tom trilogy.  Also included are a live cover of Space Oddity by Natalie Merchant, and ……a car commercial?  Yeah, as commercial as it is, I’ve included the cover of Major Tom by Shiny Toy Guns that was used in the Lincoln MKZ car commercial.  I think it is well done, but at the least, it provided a window for a new generation to discover the originals.

Enjoy!

For the obsessive, here is Major Tom’s wiki page.

To prevent long load times, videos are after the jump!

First off, Space Oddity.  First the original by David Bowie, the Natalie Merchant’s live cover.

 

 

 

 

Next, Bowie with Ashes to Ashes:  And yes, this is a heroin song.

 

 

This is where the song Major Tom fits in the timeline.  First by Peter Schilling, then the cover by Shiny Toy Guns.

 

 

 

And finally, the remix of Hallo Spaceboy by Bowie and the Pet Shop Boys.

 

One thought on “For Your Sunday Listening Pleasure

  1. This is a for your sunday listening pleasure.I think it is well done, but at the least, it provided a window for a new generation to discover the originals.This is where the song Major Tom fits in the timeline.

Leave a Reply

