Let’s Do a “Wait, What?”, Shall We?

I remember years ago, when my eldest sister urged me to read a book that she swore would change my life.  It was a little best seller by the name of  A Purpose Driven Life by  homophobe, bigot, raving lunatic, mega church pastor Rick Warren, a book that would catapult him to fame, a speaking gig at Obama’s inauguration, gay prostitutes and crystal meth.  (Sorry, I get my mega church pastors confused sometimes.  We still love you, Ted!)  Anyway, even though I was already an atheist, I took her advice and read the book, and while it may not have changed my life, it did make me want to gouge my eyes out with a screwdriver and  question the sanity of every single person who thought it was a good book.  Thanks, sis.

 

Anyway, Rick is in the (atheist) news at the moment for obsessive, draconian control of……..his employee’s twitter accounts?  Not even their tweets, although I’m sure he attempts to control those as well, but here, we are talking about who his staff members choose to follow with their accounts.

Hmm, Rick.  That confident in your staff’s faith, are you?

 

From an internal email, sent to his staff (which you can see over at Christian Nightmares although I found it at The Friendly Atheist):

 

Some of you (and some of our church accounts -like our 12 cities accounts) are following people on Twitter that you should NOT be following.

I frequently notice that often atheists, critics of saddleback, and mean-spirited or vulgar accounts often have dozens of staff or Saddleback accounts following them! This is true even when these people only have a very few follower. Because of automatic adds, we often make up the majority of followers of these mean-spirited Christian or anti-Christian folks!

Controlling much, Pastor Warren?  It’s almost like he’s stalking his employee’s twitter accounts.

 

 

Oh, for christ’s sake Rick, you’re making this too easy!

 

And just for a little extra “Wait….What?”, here is a non-Warren related vacation bible school picture from Christian Nightmares.

 

If I wasn’t gagging while dialing Children and Youth services, I’d have to say “Wait……..What?!”

One thought on “Let’s Do a “Wait, What?”, Shall We?

  1. here is a non-Warren related vacation bible school picture from Christian Nightmares.If I wasn’t gagging while dialing Children and Youth services.Oh, for christ’s sake Rick, you’re making this too easy!

Leave a Reply

