I’ll Get My Chicken Elsewhere, Thank You.

Nothing really new here, but it is worth pointing out.  From The Lookout at Yahoo News:

 

The president of Chick-fil-A, the fast food chain with more than 1,600 restaurants and $4 billion in revenue, has come out against same-sex marriage.

“I think we are inviting God’s judgment on our nation when we shake our fist at him and say, ‘We know better than you as to what constitutes a marriage,'” Dan Cathy, the company’s president and chief operating officer, said in a recent radio interview. “I pray God’s mercy on our generation that has such a prideful, arrogant attitude to think that we have the audacity to define what marriage is about.”

 

The person claiming to know the mind of God calling others arrogant.  Well, God never intended cows to write signs and plot grand conspiracies against chickens.  Who’s shaking his fist at God now, Mr. Cathy?

 

“We know that it might not be popular with everyone,” he added, “but thank the Lord, we live in a country where we can share our values and operate on biblical principles.”

 

On this point, we are in complete agreement.  They are perfectly free to share their values and operate on  biblical principles. (Matthew 10:34-35; Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.  For I have come to turn `a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, and a cow against a chicken.)  They are free to speak out on whatever issues they find important.  And they are free to give millions of dollars to hate groups.

 

According to Queerty.com, the WinShape Foundation—Chick-fil-A’s charitable arm—donated more than $1.1 million between 2003 and 2008 to anti-LGBT groups, doubling that amount to $2 million in 2009.

 

To be honest, I have a certain respect for Chick-fil-A for unapologetically making their beliefs known.  I would rather be aware up front about these things so I can make an informed decision on where to spend what little money I have.  Personally, I’d  starve before I’d buy something from Chick-fil-A.  Apparently, I’m not alone:

 

Earlier this year, students at Northeastern University protested a proposal to put a Chick-fil-A on its Boston campus because of the company’s history of supporting anti-gay organizations. The school abandoned its plan.

 

Here’s to making your voice heard.

3 thoughts on “I’ll Get My Chicken Elsewhere, Thank You.

Leave a Reply

