DOMA Fails Another Challenge, Countdown to the Cries of “Help, Help, We’re Being Oppressed” By Christian Bigots Starts……Now!

Ed Brayton over at Dispatches has the full story, so I’m not going to spend much time on this here, but I did want to point it out.  First, a bit from Ed:

Yet another federal judge, this time a George W. Bush appointee, has struck down the Defense of Marriage Act as unconstitutional. And once again, the judge ruled that the law could not even survive the lowest level of scrutiny, the rational basis test, which usually all but guarantees that a law will be upheld. You can read the full ruling here.

And the money shot from the ruling:

Having considered all four factors, this Court finds that homosexuals display all the traditional indicia of suspectness and therefore statutory classifications based on sexual orientation are entitled to a heightened form of judicial scrutiny. However, the Court need not apply a form of heightened scrutiny in the instant case to conclude that DOMA violates the promise of the equal protection as it is clear that DOMA fails to pass constitutional muster under even the most deferential level of judicial scrutiny.

I can hear the conservative’s knickers twisting as I type.

2 thoughts on “DOMA Fails Another Challenge, Countdown to the Cries of “Help, Help, We’re Being Oppressed” By Christian Bigots Starts……Now!

  1. Maybe you should get your facts straight. Just because I am a Christian and I believe in something doesn’t make mean I am a bigot. Are muslims bigots…those who kill homosexuals for practicing their preferred lifestyle (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGBT_in_Islam)? Yet you choose to focus on Christians who do not legalize the killing of homosexuals in other countries. In fact we generally just want the same right you do, to express our individual moral beliefs, just as you are so free to do. Are all religious peoples bigots to you just for believing something different? Just so you know, I believe that marriage is a religious institution and that gay people should have the same rights I do, which is usually your big beef with this country yeh? SO maybe don’t lump every single one of us Christians into the same little hole that you have created for them. Sorry for the angry tone but I feel pretty offended.

    • Wait, what?

      Where was it exactly that I said that all Christians are bigots? Hell, shortly after the post you commented on I posted on the conflict in the Episcopalian church over same sex unions.

      I’m bored, so let’s take this one line at a time.

      Maybe you should get your facts straight.

      I’ll come back to this in a minute.

      Just because I am a Christian and I believe in something doesn’t make mean I am a bigot.

      Very true. Unless you believe that members of the GLBT community are sinners who need to be saved, (which admittedly, you don’t seem to believe, so three cheers to you) in which case it does make you a bigot. Or if you believe a woman’s place is in the kitchen. (And no, I am not accusing you of that.)

      Are muslims bigots…those who kill homosexuals for practicing their preferred lifestyle

      Yep. They sure are. Fuck radical Islam. I concentrate on Christianity because it is what I deal with. I study the Bible, not the Koran, and Sharia law is not threatening our way of life in this country. Fundamentalist Christianity is. Are you a moderate, liberal Christian? Then know that 99 times out of 100, I’m not talking about you. I still think you’re wrong in your beliefs, but they are your beliefs, and who am I to judge, as long as you aren’t forcing them down the throats of the rest of us? Oh, and back to the “get your facts straight” comment? http://triblive.com/usworld/2273163-74/africa-report-african-anti-christian-gay-groups-conservative-justice-kaoma Think Muslims are the only ones trying to kill gays in other countries? Get your facts straight.

      Yet you choose to focus on Christians who do not legalize the killing of homosexuals in other countries.

      Oops. Guess I already dealt with that line. But here is another link for you. http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/06/29/us-uganda-gays-idUSBRE85R0XR20120629

      In fact we generally just want the same right you do, to express our individual moral beliefs, just as you are so free to do.

      Liz? Do you read the fucking newspaper? Or do you mean the “right to express our individual moral beliefs without criticism and have everyone forced to follow them.”

      Are all religious peoples bigots to you just for believing something different?

      Sigh. Strawman. Next.

      Just so you know, I believe that marriage is a religious institution and that gay people should have the same rights I do, which is usually your big beef with this country yeh?

      Do you want a cookie? Because all my cookies belong to me, and you aren’t getting one. And no, that isn’t usually my big beef with this country. My big beef with the country is a political system dominated by money. Gay rights is one of my many “big beefs” with conservative Christianity. For the record, my “big beef” with liberal Christians is the practicing of ala carte Christianity.

      SO maybe don’t lump every single one of us Christians into the same little hole that you have created for them.

      I find it endlessly amusing that you chose this post to reply with such anger towards. Did you read past the title? Sigh. Let me break down the title for you, since you seem not to be able to get it. “DOMA fails another challenge.” That part is easy to grasp. “Countdown” That is when you count down from 10 (or a higher number) in anticipation of an event. Like a rocket launch. “to the cries of …..” Catch the Monty Python reference there? Witty, no? “By Christian Bigots” Meaning Christians who are also bigots. What does it not mean? That all Christians are bigots. “Starts…..Now!” That means it begins right now. Instantly. Get it now? Sorry for the condescending tone, but to be honest, I kind of think you have a problem with reading comprehension.

      Sorry for the angry tone but I feel pretty offended.

      HAHA, U MAD!

Leave a Reply

