Amusing Religious Hypocrite of the Year?

Now don’t get me wrong.  CBS’ comedy Two and a Half Men definitely is unfunny trash.  But this recent story blowing up Yahoo! is so full of biting-the-hand-that-feeds, only when it’s convenient religious convictions, and lip service to faith traditions that it almost redeems the show.

From over at Deadline:

“If you watch Two And A Half Men, please stop watching Two And A Half Men,” the religious teenager says in a testimonial for Forerunner Christian Church (see the video below). “I’m on Two And A Half Men, and I don’t want to be on it. Please stop watching it, and filling your head with filth…. If I am doing any harm, I don’t want to be here. I don’t want to be contributing to the (Satan’s) plan,” says Jones, who has become very serious about his faith in the past several months. “You cannot be a true God-fearing person and be on a television show like that. I know I can’t. I’m not OK with what I’m learning, what the Bible says and being on that television show.”

Jones, who earns more than $300,000 an episode, goes on to warn people about the impact of television and shows like Men. “People say it’s just entertainment,” he says. ”Do some research on the effects of television and your brain, and I promise you you’ll have a decision to make when it comes to television, especially with what you watch.”

(Video and more after the jump)


So I am sure the young Mr. Jones is frantically trying to find a way out of his contract?  Boycotting the filming of episodes?  Giving away his dirty money to charity?

Not bloody likely.

Jones said that “it’s very weird that I’m on a television show, especially now that I am trying to walk with God. My television show has nothing to do with God and doesn’t want anything to do with God.” Still, he said he had no plans to get out of his contract.

In another interview posted on Tuesday with Christianity Today, Jones described himself as a “paid hypocrite.”

“Even though it’s my job to be an actor, I have given my life to God,” he said. “I am very comfortable and firm in that, but I still have to be on this show. It’s the No. 1 comedy, but it’s very inappropriate and the themes are very inappropriate. I have to be this person I am not.”

At least he admits it?

In a statement issued late Tuesday, Jones said he had the highest regard for all of the people he has worked with on the comedy, including creator Chuck Lorre and Warner Bros. studio chief Peter Roth.

“I apologize if my remarks reflect me showing indifference to and disrespect of my colleagues and a lack of appreciation of the extraordinary opportunity of which I have been blessed,” said Jones, who reportedly makes $350,000 an episode. “I never intended that.”

Never intended what?  Telling people to stop watching your show because it is filth?  But that’s what you said…  *headdesk*

Leave a Reply

