Some Disappointing News….

I have to say that Minnesota Vikings star running back Adrian Peterson has me confused.  In an interview on Sirius/XM NFL satellite radio Thursday, reported on by TwinCities.com, Peterson was asked for his views on gay marriage.

“To each his own. I’m not with it,” Peterson said. “But I have relatives that, you know, are gay. I’m not biased towards them. I still treat them the same. I love them. But again, I’m not with that. That’s not something that I believe in. But to each his own.”

Perhaps you can see why I am puzzled.  These people, some of them his relatives, that Peterson says he loves and treats the same as any other person, according to him should not be allowed to marry the person they love since that person happens to be of the same sex.

Well then, you are not treating them the same.  While you claim that you are not biased towards them, opposing their right to get married is a fucking textbook example of bias towards homosexuals.  By the very definition of the word you are biased towards homosexuals.

So. Adrian.  Can we get some clarification please?  Is it just a poor choice of words on your part, where what you meant to say was “Hey, I don’t want to get gay married, I don’t believe in me getting gay married, I’m not with that, but if other people want to get gay married that is completely fine!”?

Or are you really so delusional that you honestly believe that you are not biased towards homosexuals while opposing their rights to get married?  If so, um…   why?  Is it because some holy book says it is a sin?  Do you just personally think teh buttsecks is icky and because of that think homosexuals shouldn’t be able to get married, since your status as an attractive hunk of man flesh will of course lead to roving bands of homosexuals kidnapping you and forcing you into polygamous gay marriages as soon as gay marriage is legal?  Do you believe that somehow gays getting married will annul all heterosexual marriages?  Do you feel that gays being allowed to get married will somehow cheapen the institution? ( You know, more so than the ludicrous divorce rate already has cheapened it.)

Or have you come up with an actual rational opposition to gay marriage that everyone else has somehow missed?  That may sound sarcastic, but I am serious.  Hell, you came back from a career threatening injury unbelievably fast and were not just as good as new, but better than new, which no one thought was possible.  So maybe you also came up with the one actual rational argument against gay marriage.

I know you won’t be responding to my little blog, but I am sure many other people have the same questions.  Hopefully we have some clarification soon.

TL;DR version?

Yo, Adrian.  Did you misspeak, are you suffering a massive case of cognitive dissonance as a homophobe convinced he isn’t a homophobe, or did you actually come up with a rational reason gays shouldn’t be able to get married?

Leave a Reply

