Ready to Have Your Day Ruined?

I heard about this story on this weeks edition of The Scathing Atheist.  I then spent a few moments researching it because I honestly didn’t want to believe it was true.  I was hoping against hope that Noah got taken by a fake story.  Unfortunately, the story is real.

What crime do you figure is worth 200 lashes?

I am not one for physical violence and the thought of giving the state the power to actually whip a person multiple times turns my stomach a bit, so it is safe to assume my list of crimes deserving the punishment of 200 lashes is rather small.  If totally in my power, the list would honestly not exist.  Personally, I think we can find better ways to punish criminals that having them whipped. But that answer isn’t an option.  Nope, thought experiment time.  What crimes do you figure deserve whipping as a punishment?

Murder?

Sadistic torture?

Child abuse?

Rape?

Depending on your own personal ethical stances, your list may have more or less crimes in addition to the ones I mentioned.  It is only a thought experiment with the only requirement being that “none” is not a valid answer.  You know no one is going to be actually whipped due to your answer.  Is animal abuse on yours?  White collar crime?  Drunk driving?

It is hard for me to know exactly what your list would look like, especially since to me you are completely anonymous.  I have no idea who you are or what you are like.  Even with those limitations, I am willing to bet I know something that is not on your list.

I bet “being the victim in a gang rape” is nowhere on your “people in need of a good whipping” list.

(To be perfectly clear, if I am wrong and it is on your list, kindly fuck yourself with a nice splintery post then stab yourself a few times with something rusty.)

Then again, I doubt I have many readers in Saudi Arabia.  I really wish this didn’t really happen, but…..from CNN:

(CNN) — A court in Saudi Arabia increased the punishment for a gang-rape victim after her lawyer won an appeal of the sentence for the rapists, the lawyer told CNN.

The 19-year-old victim was sentenced last year to 90 lashes for meeting with an unrelated male, a former friend from whom she was retrieving photographs. The seven rapists, who abducted the pair, received sentences ranging from 10 months to five years in prison.

You know, there is more to the story.  You can read the linked article, and here is another CNN piece on it.

You could argue with me over parts of it, you could try to make excuses, you could trot out cultural relativism for a quick stroll, we could discuss how her sentence was more than doubled because she went to the media and attempted to get her attackers punishment increased, whatever.

Personally, I believe that any culture that whips a rape victim for …wait.  Any culture that whips a woman for meeting with an unrelated male, since that seems to be the cause of her whippings, has forfeited any claim to the words “moral,” “just,” and/or “humanity.”

Sam Harris gets a lot of shit from the left for his views on Islam.  I am sure if I was better known, I would get a lot of the same shit.  The term “Islamophobia” is one I hear frequently.  It is an easy trap to fall in to, I will admit, when you look at these nations under Sharia law and the absolutely disgusting way they treat women, hell, the way they treat all their citizens, all because of Islam.

This is less a problem with Islam, however, and more a problem with theocracy.  Spend a few hours on Youtube watching videos of some of the more extreme Christian preachers.  Don’t even try to tell me that a nation under the thumb of some of the more extreme Christian fundamentalists would be all that different from the Islamic theocracies that actually exist.

Imagine a world without fundamentalist religions.  A world without theocracy.

A world where this women would not be facing the whip.

Fuck, I just can’t believe shit like this takes place in the year 2013.

Leave a Reply

