Yay, I Guess?

As seen on Vox today:

Pennsylvania is now the 24th state to legalize medical marijuana, after Gov. Tom Wolf signed a comprehensive medical marijuana bill into law on Sunday.

The pro-legalization Marijuana Policy Project summarized the measure:

SB 3 would allow patients with qualifying conditions to use and safely access medical cannabis with their physicians’ recommendations. Up to 25 Department of Health-permitted growers and processors would produce medical cannabis, which could be dispensed by up to 50 dispensaries, each of which could have up to three locations. The qualifying conditions include cancer, HIV/AIDS, multiple sclerosis, PTSD, seizures, autism, sickle cell anemia, and intractable pain if conventional therapies or opiates are contraindicated or ineffective.

With Pennsylvania as the latest addition, nearly half of the states across the US allow legal medical marijuana.

One thing left out of the article is the fact that smokable marijuana will not be medically available.

The only kind of marijuana that would be approved initially included pills, creams and oils that can be used in a vapor.

But smoking would be prohibited, which is interestingly in contrast to the New Jersey law, which only allows for whole cannabis flowers and buds.

Doesn’t surprise me.  The government still runs our liquor stores.  This state is so ass-backwards.

On the plus side however, at least something has been legalized for those people who it can help.  For people like me, however, who are for total legalization while remaining skeptical of many of the claims of cannabis’ medicinal value, I see this as another sign that PA will be among the last states to legalize the recreational use of marijuana.

Anyway, I have to go.  I think I feel myself coming down with Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

What?

Why are you looking at me like that?

Oh, here’s the list of conditions:

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Autism
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus) / AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome)
  • Huntington’s Disease
  • Inflammatory Bowel Syndrome
  • Intractable Seizures
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neuropathies
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain in which conventional therapeutic intervention and opiate therapy is contraindicated or ineffective
  • Sickle Cell Anemia

(I’m joking about coming down with IBS.  If I want medical THC oil to vape, I have chronic severe pain from the approximately 50 fractures I suffered to both of my feet in the year 2000.  And I can not be prescribed opiates for it.  Believe me, I don’t need to make up a condition.)

Leave a Reply

