A Very Short Post on Last Night’s Game of Thrones.

For the first time since, I believe, the end of the fourth season, I actually almost enjoyed an episode of Game of Thrones.  Not enough to reorder HBO or anything, but at least I wasn’t actively screaming at the screen for the entire episode.  The family drama going on in King’s Landing is interesting, the stuff at the Wall continues to be the bright spot of the season so far, and I have to agree with poorquentyn that not only was Euron Greyjoy an episode highlight, but the character is actually recognizable as book Euron Greyjoy.  Which, to be honest, completely blindsided me since practically none of the other characters resemble the book counterpart they are supposedly based on in the slightest.  And the flashback scene was decent, although having Hodor named “Willas” instead of “Walder” is (either) just meaninglessly idiotic (or a straight “fuck you” aimed at the author of the books*) and any flashback scene sends my mind right to the scene from the trailer of Ser Arthur Dayne spinning two swords like he’s duel wielding in a role playing game.

It wasn’t all rainbows and unicorns, however.  The Meereen storyline is still snafu.  Tyrion is so flawless that he has ceased to be an interesting character, and the amount of plot armor he’s wearing sucks any drama out of his scenes.  They seem to have zero idea what they are doing in Braavos.  The extreme torture that Theon suffered at the hands of Ramsey apparently had very little lasting effect.  I have no idea why Jaime wasn’t tossed in the cell across from Marg since they had him very outnumbered and he just confessed multiple sins to the High Sparrow.  And I have zero idea what Ramsey’s plan is going forward.  He no longer has Sansa, he killed his evil mastermind father, and then tossed the Frey alliance to the dogs.  With his reputation combined with his questionable actions so far this season, why would any future battle he’s involved in see any more than his “twenty good men” on his side?

Nah, I’m not even dealing with D&D having Walda give birth just so Ramsey could have his dogs rip apart a woman and a newborn infant.  It was “dramatically satisfying.”  It made sense because they “wanted it to happen.”  It totes wasn’t gratuitous yo, the camera turned away!  They had to do it because the audience needed to know Ramsey is a villain who will do anything.  They have to be shocking, and what’s more shocking than dingos dogs eating peoples babies?  Seriously, what is this shit?  A Song of Ice and Fire as rewritten by Joe Abercrombie while suffering from massive depression, drunk on his lunch break right after watching everyone he ever cared about executed ?

Okay, I’ve already given this enough words.  When I started, I planned on 100 or so and now I’m pushing five times that.

Rating Score (out of 10, with 1 being the absolute lowest possible rating.)

Season Six, Episode 2.

  • As a television show only: 5
  • As an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire: 2 (Thanks to Euron.  Oh, and thanks to “Yara” magically becoming Asha for a minute or two.)

*GRRM made a comment some time ago about characters left out of Game of Thrones that disappointed him and he mentioned Willas Tyrell as one of the main ones.  I really (and I mean really) don’t think D&D are this petty (although they do sometimes seem to toss casual “fuck yous” to book readers) and I just think this was a meaningless change for no reason at all, but I have seen the renaming of Hodor mentioned as a response to GRRM’s wish for Willas, so I included it for completeness.  Once again, I don’t subscribe to this theory.  I just think they change things from the books because they don’t give a flying fuck about the books.

3 thoughts on “A Very Short Post on Last Night’s Game of Thrones.

  1. I thought he was calling Hodor Willard w/ a D, so it’s possible that they were actually saying Walder. Though I don’t try to nit pick the show and compare it to the books, so it doesn’t really bother me either way. It’s to the point now that your sister’s daughter’s daughter could write the episodes.

  2. My sister’s daughter’s daughter, unconceived as she may be, would do a better job.

    That being said….

    Young Ned (who is a head shorter than his little sister Lyanna) definitely calls Hodor “Willas” at 1:09 of the flashback scene. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w59PrNhjSpU
    As does Old Nan at 1:40.
    This clip also shows the conversation between Bran and Meera, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajLBlqhyHkA , and at 4:18 Bran unmistakably says its “Willas.”

    As for nit-picking the show? I loved the show. The show is how I found the books. I defended the show without fail all through season 4, always giving D&D the benefit of the doubt because I thought they actually understood the source material. It could do no wrong in my eyes. I even defended several things that currently make me hang my head in shame.

    The show let me find the books. Since I am now an ASOIAF uber-nerd, I will always cherish it for that. Sadly it is no longer an adaptation of the book series, and that is not because they ran out of written material, but because they decided to ignore the majority of two books. (Yes, the books I consider the two strongest of the series so far.) It is to the point that seeing a character on screen sort of resemble their on page counterpart is enough to make me cheer. That is sad, especially when the author of the series notoriously disapproves of fan-fiction. Of course, he never imagined that they would run out of printed material before he got The Winds of WInter published, and I can certainly understand why he thought that way. They took two seasons to adapt A Storm of Swords, yet we got a eight grade book report by a student who only skimmed the Cliff Notes version of the two novel long Feast Dance?

    Until the end of days we could argue whether D&D just never read or understood A Feast for Crows and A Dance WIth Dragons, whether they are just sick of Game of Thrones and want it over with as fast as possible, or if they actually think their version of the story is better than Martin’s. Whichever it is, it is sad. Unlike many detractors, I will still defend the first three seasons as the best adaptation we were ever going to get of the series. I still love a large portion of season four.

    That being said, I see no need to nitpick differences from the book anymore because they’ve straight up stated that it is its own story now apart from the novels. Now I complain about the things that prevent me from loving it just as a television show; whatever the hell they are doing with Dorne, the whitewashing of Tyrion, the clusterfuck that is Meereen, the whole “let’s be shocking just to be shocking” deaths of Roose, Walda, and the baby, the nonsensical writing, the teleport machine seemingly available to half the characters, the High Sparrow that doesn’t arrest Jaime when he confesses multiple crimes to him, the kin-slaying that no one cares about, etc, etc, etc.

    Wow, that was way too long of a reply. Sorry. Love the name you posted under!

    • “That being said, I see no need to nitpick differences from the book anymore ”

      Yes, I realize I said this in the comments of a post where I nitpicked the changing of Hodor’s name from “Walder” to “Willas,” but I also mentioned that the change was “meaninglessly idiotic” and it was far from one of my major criticisms of the episode. Sorry, wanted to be pedantic to myself for a second there.

Leave a Reply

